Pharmiweb ChannelsAll | PharmaCo | Clinical Research | R&D/BioTech | Sales/Mktg | Healthcare | Recruitment | Pharmacy | Medical Comms RSS Feed RSS Feeds RSS Feed PharmiWeb Candidate Blog RSS Feed PharmiWeb Client Blog


Press Release

Bonnie Bassler to Receive the 2016 Pearl Meister Greengard Prize

The Rockefeller University
Posted on: 28 Sep 16

PR Newswire

NEW YORK, Sept. 28, 2016

NEW YORK, Sept. 28, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Rockefeller University has announced that molecular biologist Bonnie Bassler of Princeton University and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute will receive the 2016 Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, an annual award celebrating the achievements of extraordinary women scientists. She will accept the Prize during a ceremony at Rockefeller University on November 16, 2016. Reshma Saujani, founder and chief executive officer of the nonprofit organization Girls Who Code, will present the award. 

Bassler is recognized for discoveries related to a molecular mechanism that allows bacteria to communicate with each other. Termed quorum sensing, this process involves chemical signaling molecules that enable bacteria to count their cell numbers, collectively regulate gene expression, and synchronize group behaviors. Quorum sensing controls phenomena including bioluminescence, biofilm formation, and virulence. Bassler's lab is working to develop anti-quorum-sensing molecules, which hold promise as antimicrobial compounds targeting bacteria whose virulence depends on the process.

Bassler is Squibb Professor and Chair of the Department of Molecular Biology at Princeton University. She is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and has been the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship and the Shaw Prize.

The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize was founded in 2004 by Paul Greengard, a Nobel Prize-winning neurobiologist, Vincent Astor Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience at Rockefeller, and his wife, sculptor Ursula von Rydingsvard. Greengard, who shared the 2000 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his contributions to understanding nerve cell communication in the brain, has long been an advocate for women in the sciences. He used his Nobel honorarium to seed the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, naming the award after his mother, who died during his birth.

"Dr. Bassler is teasing out secrets from the oldest form of life, and the implications are enormous," said Greengard. "Bacteria govern many of the processes that have shaped the Earth and our place in it, and decoding their mechanisms of communication is key to boosting the benefits of commensal bacteria and negating the dangers of those that cause harm. Dr. Bassler is not just a role model for women in the sciences—rather, she sets an extraordinary example for all scientists."

Winners of the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, which carries a $100,000 honorarium, are selected by a committee of nine scientists, four of them recipients of the Nobel Prize.

Reshma Saujani is the founder and CEO of Girls Who Code, a nonprofit organization dedicated to closing the gender gap in technology. Through after school clubs and summer programs that encourage and foster young girls' interest in computer science, Girls Who Code is building a pipeline of future women engineers and computer scientists.

The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize ceremony is open to the public, but registration is required. For more information, please visit

About The Rockefeller University

The Rockefeller University is the world's leading biomedical research university and is dedicated to conducting innovative, high-quality research to improve the understanding of life for the benefit of humanity. Our 79 laboratories conduct research in neuroscience, immunology, biochemistry, genomics, and many other areas, and a community of 1,800 faculty, students, postdocs, technicians, clinicians, and administrative personnel work on our 14-acre Manhattan campus. Our unique approach to science has led to some of the world's most revolutionary and transformative contributions to biology and medicine. During Rockefeller's 115-year history, 24 of our scientists have won Nobel Prizes, 21 have won Albert Lasker Medical Research Awards, and 20 have garnered the National Medal of Science, the highest science award given by the United States.


Katherine Fenz, Media Relations Manager at The Rockefeller University


Photo -


To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE The Rockefeller University

PR Newswire

Last updated on: 28/09/2016

Share | | |
Site Map | Privacy & Security | Cookies | Terms and Conditions is Europe's leading industry-sponsored portal for the Pharmaceutical sector, providing the latest jobs, news, features and events listings.
The information provided on is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician.