- Global Pharma News & Resources

Amit Khera, MD, MSc, FASPC Named President of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology

JACKSONVILLE, Fla., Aug. 28, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- At the recent 2018 Congress on CVD Prevention held in New Mexico, Amit Khera, MD, MSc, FASPC was named president of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology (ASPC). The ASPC is a national organization of individuals with a dedicated interest in the prevention of cardiovascular disease.

Amit Khera, MD, MSc, FASPC is a Professor of Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas Texas.  Dr. Khera specializes in cardiac risk assessment and risk factor modifications. Dr. Khera is the Director of UT Southwestern's Preventive Cardiology Program, as well as the Program Director for the Cardiology Fellowship.  Dr. Khera also holds the Dallas Heart Ball Chair in Hypertension and Heart Disease.

In addition to his clinical work, he pursues his passion for preventing cardiac disease by conducting extensive research in the subject.  He has published over 100 academic articles in the field.

Dr. Khera is an active member of multiple professional organizations, including the Texas Medical Association, the American Heart Association, the American College of Cardiology, and the American Society of Preventive Cardiology.

He has been honored by the American Heart Association for cardiovascular research in women's health and by the American College of Cardiology for his work in preventive cardiology. He is past president of the Dallas Board of the AHA, and current president of the AHA Southwest Affiliate.

His interest in cardiac disease prevention began during residency in Boston when he cared for a 45-year-old man who was admitted into the hospital for his seventh heart procedure to fix blocked arteries. He wondered how the patient had developed such malignant coronary artery disease and thought there must be a better way to prevent recurrent problems.

The ASPC Board is comprised of key leaders in the Preventive Space. The ASPC would like to welcome the new board members elected at the 2018 Congress: Christie Ballantyne, MD, Ron Blankstein, MD, David Maron, MD, Pam Taub, MD, Salim Virani, MD, PhD, and Howard Weintraub, MD.

The ASPC is excited to have Dr. Khera leading such a stellar Board of Directors.  The ASPC will continue to thrive and pursue its initiatives in CVD prevention.

About the American Society for Preventive Cardiology

The American Society for Preventive Cardiology (ASPC), founded in 1985, represents a multidisciplinary group of healthcare practitioners and researchers who share interests in and passion for preventive cardiology. A Vision of the Society is to interface with ALL other organizations involved with CVD treatments and prevention. For more information visit:

Editor Details

Related Links

Last Updated: 29-Aug-2018