- Global Pharma News & Resources

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Elects New National Board Members

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Elects New National Board Members

PR Newswire

NEW YORK, Dec. 11, 2018

NEW YORK, Dec. 11, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- The nation's largest suicide prevention organization, the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention announces the appointment of two new board members to its National Board of Directors: Nina Gussack and Lisa Riley, and three new members to its Scientific Council: Yogesh Dwivedi, Matthew Nock and Barbara Stanley. In their new roles, effective January 1, 2019, the board members will support the organization in its mission to save lives and bring hope to those affected by suicide. Two valuable board members will also be ending their three-year term, Phil Chappell and Andy Rogoff.

"Suicide is one of our nation's leading, yet preventable causes of death," said AFSP CEO Robert Gebbia. "We would like to congratulate our new National Board Members for volunteering their time, expertise and passion to helping us fight suicide. As we strive to reduce the national suicide rate 20 percent by the year 2025, the board leaders' work is imperative in helping us reach this bold goal."

Two individuals have been nominated for their first three-year term on the national board:

  1. Nina Gussack, J.D., M.S., is a partner in and the chair of the Health Sciences Department of Pepper Hamilton LLP in Philadelphia, PA.
  2. Lisa Riley, PA-C, Chair of AFSP New Hampshire, member of AFSP's Chapter Leadership Council, and a loss survivor. Riley is also a professor for the Physician Assistant Studies Program, at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.

Three individuals have agreed to fill open positions on the Scientific Council:

  1. Yogesh Dwivedi, Ph.D., University of Alabama
  2. Matthew Nock, Ph.D., Harvard University
  3. Barbara Stanley, Ph.D., Columbia University/New York State Psychiatric Institute

Serving a one-year term, beginning January 1, the other AFSP National Executive Committee Board members include:

  • Steve Siple – Chair of the Board
  • Jerry Rosenbaum, M.D. – Board President
  • Gretchen Haas, Ph.D. – Board Vice President and Treasurer
  • James Compton – Secretary
  • Maria A. Oquendo, M.D., Ph.D.– Chair, Scientific Council
  • Dennis Tackett – Chair, Loss and Healing Council
  • Nancy Farrell, MPA – Chair, Policy Council
  • Ray Paul, Jr. – Chair, Development
  • Marco Taglietti, M.D. – Chair Governance / Nominating Committee
  • Christopher Epperson – Chair, Chapter Leadership Council
  • Robert Gebbia  – Chief Executive Officer
  • Christine Moutier , M.D. – Chief Medical Officer

The election of the new members took place in New York on December 5, 2018.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention  is dedicated to saving lives and bringing hope to those affected by suicide. AFSP creates a culture that's smart about mental health through education and community programs, develops suicide prevention through research and advocacy, and provides support for those affected by suicide. Led by CEO Robert Gebbia and headquartered in New York, and with a public policy office in Washington, D.C., AFSP has local chapters in all 50 states with programs and events nationwide. Learn more about AFSP in its latest Annual Report, and join the conversation on suicide prevention by following AFSP on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.

View original content to download multimedia:

SOURCE American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Editor Details

Last Updated: 11-Dec-2018