- Global Pharma News & Resources

ISPE Announces the 2022–2023 ISPE International Board of Directors Election Results

ISPE Announces the 2022–2023 ISPE International Board of Directors Election Results

(NORTH BETHESDA, MARYLAND, USA, 31 AUGUST 2022) — The International Society of Pharmaceutical Engineering (ISPE) is pleased to announce the results of its 2022–2023 International Board of Directors election. The election was run by an independent third party, Intelliscan, Inc., who provided ISPE with the final audited results.
The Board is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of the Society and will assume their elected positions at the 2022 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo, taking place in Orlando and virtually from 30 October–2 November. 

The following pharmaceutical industry leaders have been elected to positions on the 2022–2023 ISPE International Board of Directors: 


  • Chair: Michael Rutherford, Executive Director, Computer Systems Quality & Data Integrity, Syneos Health
  • Vice Chair: Scott Billman, Vice President, Engineering, Pharmaceutical Services, Thermo Fisher Scientific
  • Treasurer: Jeffrey Biskup, PE, CEO and Chairman of the Board, CRB
  • Secretary: Vivianne Arencibia, Vice President, Global Quality Systems and Compliance, Moderna
  • Past Chair: Jörg Zimmermann, Vice President, Vetter Development Service, External Affairs, Vetter Pharma-Fertigung GmbH & Co.

Directors Elected to a Second Term:

  • Nina Cauchon, PhD, Director Regulatory Affairs – CMC, Amgen Inc.
  • Teresa Minero, Founder & CEO, LifeBee - Digitalizing Life Sciences
  • Hirofumi Suzuki, PhD, Product Supply Japan, Head of Product Supply Coordination, Bayer Yakuhin Ltd.

New Directors:

  • David Churchward, Global Head Sterility Assurance, Cell and Gene Technologies, Lonza Biologics (Appointed Director)
  • Norman Goldschmidt, President, Genesis AEC
  • Michael Martin, CEO, CAI

Continuing Board Members:

In addition to those named above, the following Directors were elected in 2021 to serve a two-year term and will continue their service on the Board:

  • Ylva Ek, Chief Quality Officer (CQO), KeyPlants AB
  • Sarah Miksinski, PhD, Executive Director in CMC Regulatory Affairs, AstraZeneca
  • Georg Singewald, PhD, Global Head Technology & Engineering, F Hoffmann-La Roche AG
  • Timothy Watson, PhD, Executive Director & Team Leader, CMC Advisory Office, Pfizer Inc.  

Ex Officio:

  • Zen-Zen Yen, Head of Maintenance Operations, Bayer AG

Explore the ISPE Board of Directors Election webpage for complete biographical information on all of ISPE's International Board. 

About ISPE
The International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering (ISPE) is the world’s largest nonprofit association serving its members through leading scientific, technical, and regulatory advancement across the entire pharmaceutical lifecycle. The 20,000+ members of ISPE provide solutions to complex pharmaceutical industry challenges through innovation, member and workforce development, technical, regulatory and compliance collaborations in more than 90 countries around the world. Founded in 1980, ISPE has its worldwide headquarters and training center in North Bethesda, Maryland USA, and its operations center in Tampa, Florida USA. Visit for more information.

For more information, contact: 
Kristin LeMunyon
Marketing Communications Manager
International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering (ISPE)

Editor Details

Last Updated: 02-Sep-2022