- Global Pharma News & Resources
27-Sep-2021 - 29-Sep-2021

ESID 2021:Multidisciplinary Symposium on the Immunological Consequences of Targeted Immune Therapies

  • Contact:
    • Organiser: Kenes Group on behalf of ESID
    • Name: ESID 2021 Online Symposium Secretariat
    • Email:

We are delighted to invite you to the Multidisciplinary Symposium on the Immunological Consequences of Targeted Immune Therapies (ESID 2021 Online Symposium), which will be held online from 27-29 September 2021.

Modern treatment of inflammatory disease or malignancy increasingly targets specific elements of the immune system through cellular therapies (eg CAR-T cells), targeted monoclonal antibodies directed against specific cytokines or receptors (eg anakinra) or cells (eg alemtuzumab) or small molecules targeting signaling pathways (eg JAK inhibitors). Whilst effective at treating the disease, the unintended effect of these therapies may lead to phenocopies of primary immunodeficiencies, which may not be noticed, resulting in secondary immunodeficiencies.

There are currently no internationally agreed guidelines for the management of secondary immunodeficiencies resulting from use of these therapies.

This meeting will bring together specialists from a range of disciplines which use these immune modulating therapies, to discuss their mechanisms of action and side effects as well as the diagnosis and practical management of secondary immunodeficiencies

We look forward to meeting you soon online.

Important deadlines for your calendar:
8 June - Extended abstract submission deadline
13 July - Early bird registration deadline
14 September - Registration savings deadline
27-29 September - ESID 2021 Online Symposium

ESID 2021 President and Chairs:
- Prof. Isabelle Meyts, ESID President
- Prof. Siobhan Burns, ESID 2021 Meeting Chair
- Prof. Andrew Gennery, ESID 2021 Scientific Chair

ESID Board:
- Prof. Isabelle Meyts, ESID President
- Prof. Fabio Candotti, President Elect
- Prof. Eleonora Gambineri, Secretary
- Dr. Stefano Volpi, Treasurer
- Prof. Despina Moshous, Chairperson WP Education
- Prof. Siobhan Burns, Chairperson WP Clinical
- Prof. Michael Albert, Chairperson WP Inborn Errors
- Dr. Clara Franco, Chairperson WP Junior
- Dr. Joao Farela Neves, Chairperson WP PID Care in Development
- Prof. Mikko Seppanen, Chairperson WP Registry
- Prof. Anne Puel, Chairperson WP Genetics